Ketarin forum

Managing large databases

FranciscoR

Hi,

I have been looking for a tool to manage my Ketarin database, which is a bit large right now. I have tried doing this with Notepad ++, but the problem is the database gets corrupted after saving. But my idea is to search for some regular expression and replace it with another expression, value, symbol...

82931484rg3.png

This is the error message, similar to the Ketarin error output:

errosqlitespyoc1.png

I also did some experiences with several sqlite managers, like sqlite spy, but although these can be handy to edit cells on one-by-one basis, I don't think I will be using these for the above purpose, as sql sintax (I'm not an expert, correct me if I'm worng) only allows me to replace the contents of a whole cell (or a group of cells), and not a part of a cell...

sqlitespymg8.png

Any ideas/suggestions ?

First of all: Never *ever* try editing an SQLite database with Notepad or the like. It's not like an XML file! That'd be the same as if you edited Ketarin.exe with Notepad.

Secondly: What exactly do you want to "manage"?

A suggestion: Export everything to XML, edit it and import it again. There shouldn't be any loss of information. If there is, I'd need to fix that bug.

Never *ever* try editing an SQLite database with Notepad or the like. It's not like an XML file! That'd be the same as if you edited Ketarin.exe with Notepad.

OK, thanks, like I said, I'm not an expert. :P :p :P

What exactly do you want to "manage"?

A group of fields... regarding commands, for instance, if I want to introduce a new switch, change an existing one, attach a new command to every command field, currently I have to do this on a one-by-one basis, which is time-consuming with a large database (this is not a critique) and not error-less given that everything is keyed manually over 70 fields (in my case).